Two Poems a Triolet and a Sedoka

Sekhmet my travel computer

Sekhmet my travel computer

Triolet

Onward

My life goes forever onward
Whether I try or I just drift
Like wood that navigates the ford
My life goes forever onward
Whether I’m entertained or bored
Or if I curse or pray the Lord
My life goes forever onward
Whether I try or I just drift.

Sedoka

Afternoon

This morning’s bright sun
Hid behind the clouds at noon.
My heart grew heavy, tears fell.
My thoughts were of you,
Hiding yourself inside clouds
To protect your soul from life.

© G.s.k. ‘13

I was praticing poetry as I sat in the Art Gallery yesterday doing “guard duty”.

7 thoughts on “Two Poems a Triolet and a Sedoka

  1. Gorgeous poetry, Bastet! “My heart grew heavy, tears fell.
    My thoughts were of you,
    Hiding yourself inside clouds
    To protect your soul from life.” – loved this part and I loved the picture, the open notebook and the pen and the letters peeking out!

    Like

    • Thanks ever so much! That Sedoka was written for a dear friend who unfortunately is going through a difficult period in his life. The photo is in relation to where I wrote it and in effects I wrote it on Sekhmet and transferred it to Bastet this morning. There’s no wi-fi internet at the Gallery.

      Like

  2. Both very beautiful pieces. I especially relate to the first one as I feel this often… life goes on either way, so better to enjoy it, easy to say but seems so hard to actually put into practice…

    Like

  3. Ah, what a fabulous triolet! I just wrote 2 of them recently for next week’s challenge, and it is rather tricky to make them flow nicely, but you managed this brilliantly. The sedoka is incredibly beautiful and sad. I rolled up a few beaver tails in a nice big Canadian flag for you. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Just a Note – A passing – October 28, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

