Narrow Road (12) – Tanka – December 19, 2015

Verona Train Station

Verona Train Station

travelling under stars
each mile further from home
over oceans and hills
passing guarded checkpoint gates
this trip – forty-five years long

© G.s.k. ‘15

Carpe Diem #882 beneath the stars of the deep north: low tide crossing, July

After lingering in Sakata for several days, I left on a long walk of a hundred and thirty miles to the capital of the province of Kaga. As I looked up at the clouds gathering around the mountains of the Hokuriku road, the thought of the great distance awaiting me almost overwhelmed my heart. Driving myself all the time, however, I entered the province of Echigo through the barrier-gate of Nezu, and arrived at the barrier-gate of Ichiburi in the province of Ecchu. During the nine days I needed for this trip, I could not write very much, what with the heat and moisture, and my old complaint that pestered me immeasurably.

July
ordinarily the sixth night
is not like this

© Basho (Tr. Jane Reichhold)

11 thoughts on “Narrow Road (12) – Tanka – December 19, 2015

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

