Golden Willow – Haiku – December 29, 2015

Golden Willow

Golden Willow

December morning
in splendid golden glory
the willow sways

now alone
she lost her companion
to a summer squall*

with each passing day
she loses her golden chiome
the willow ages **

*Fallen Willow Jisei

**Willow Weep

Today is the last episode dedicated to my haiku and waka on Carpe Diem Haiku Kai.  I have just written a brief note to Chèvrefeuille thanking him for this opportunity, but above all, thanking him for showing my poetry to myself.

I rarely re-read my poetry or in fact anything I write.  I always promise myself that I will wade through my archives and perhaps put together a book or two but never quite find the time to do so.  I don’t know what holds me back except perhaps a lack of confidence in my writing.

This special month and my book which Chèvrefeuille published have been such a wonderful experience for me.  I wish to thank him and all of you who have read and enjoyed my work for your constant encouragement.

this hidden path
draped in honeysuckle
I hear nature sing
sweet is the blackbird’s song
as spring begins to bloom

 © G.s.k. ‘15

Carpe Diem Special #189 Georgia’s 5th strolling yesterday (tanka)

strolling yesterday
astonished by the pine trees.
they seemed to copy
the heavy rain laden skies
imitating it’s wet lay.

© Georgia (May 2013)

a new day rises –
the weeping willow on the piazza
a birds’ gathering

weeping willow
in the autumn sunlight
a golden tree

under the willow
on the city’s graveyard
weeping silhouette

© Chèvrefeuille

24 thoughts on “Golden Willow – Haiku – December 29, 2015

  1. Love the comparison we using in poetry, and in haiku/tanka…let us to say so much more…to release hidden, suppressed sometimes, feelings/emotions….this is why the poetry has therapeutic healing quality I believe… your words are very poignant…make the reader to slow down and enjoy every minute at earth…Blessings, Georgia! Thank you for sharing your heart.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Beautifully said Humbird … poetry is a blessing in many ways, to stop to find that a-ha moment is therapeutic I think for the writer an the reader. Thanks you for sharing your thoughts with me here … warmest wishes and I hope we have a splendid New Year blogging together!

      Like

  2. A wonderful poem, Bastet, and the photograph that accompanies it! Somehow, I feel like Mrs. Willow will regain her glory, come the springtime.
    Happy Holidays and I wish you all the best in the impending new year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Oloriel … I’m really happy you enjoyed the photo and poems … and of course, spring is just around the corner! Have a great new year and may you have success in all your endeavours. Hugs, Georgia

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dearest Bastet — I’ve been out of commission and haven’t told you — but your work this month has been magnificent. To echo Oloriel, I too, feel that Mrs. Willow will be glorious in spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Way to end the year Georgia, and what a year it has been! I truly enjoyed your book, it made me want to do better. I love the set here, then the tanka blew me away. When I grow up I want to write just like that:) A happy, prosperous and healthy new year to you and yours:)

    Liked by 1 person

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

