Morning Haiku and Waka – January 5, 2016

The Joy of Living

chestnuts and Chianti
laying before the glowing fire
evening readings

poetry and prose
reading out-loud in turns
before bedtime

after lovemaking
watching the dying embers
in his eyes

© G.s.k. ‘16

Carpe Diem #891 joy of living

Today’s episode of Carpe Diem Haiku Kai is again dedicated to modern/classical “kigo” or seasonal words.   Now I’m having serious doubts as to my understanding of the concept of “kigo” at all.

Here’s what Chèvrefeuille tells us about”joy of living” as a winter kigo:

“maybe it fits winter more than I would think. Why? Well … as I read the examples of haiku for this kigo than they are about the joy of watching a show or a ballet together with your lover. And winter is the time of the long evenings and that can also be a joy. Together in front of the fireplace with a nice glass of wine, candles, romantic music and the warmth of each other’s body … that’s how I see the joy of living … so maybe this is a kigo for winter …?”

 

“Come see the sunset?”
the old woman too busy
for endings

touching me
during the ballet
his left hand

© Jane Reichhold

she and I
in front of the fireplace
enjoying life

© Chèvrefeuille

(I’ve removed my too elaborate question from this post, I will pose it elsewhere.)

15 thoughts on “Morning Haiku and Waka – January 5, 2016

    • Yes Christmas carols is a perfect winter kigo – the kigo is Christmas btw … what doesn’t make sense to me is “joy of living” as a kigo or winter seasonal word. Anyway, I’ve decided to ask an expert to try to get a deeper explanation on this point.

      Like

    • I think perhaps you’re right .. and I’ve often said the same thing, the point is though that we’re asked specifically to use kigo on the prompts at CDHK … and I’d like to use them, but frankly speaking, a sensation is not a word … the kigo here is joy of living as a winter kigo. Do we just then refer to sensations in this case. Probably.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know there is a site somewhere that lists the old as well as new kigo. I just at the moment don’t have the time to explore them all. So I go with what I know. Now if given a specific kigo I might adapt, but to choose my own… from not knowing is a tad harder.

        Like

        • Interesting … really. I think the “modern” kigo presented are the kigo used by Jane R. and there’s a dictionary there for her kigo words … and I’ve found a Japanese dictionary of 500 traditional kigo words. Now I can understand that you get a phrase for a Japanese kigo … normal actually because they build their words on pictures but doing so in English makes no sense to me. I wonder, perhaps one can make ones own dictionary of kigo … at least our readers will know when we’re talking about 😉

          Liked by 1 person

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

