Why Perfectionism Kills Creativity – Part One

An intro to an interesting book .. and it comes from the Secret Keeper’s cache of great reads – Bird by Bird: Anne Lamott … can’t wait for part 2!

the secret keeper

Bird by Bird: Anne Lamott’s Timeless Advice on Writing and Why Perfectionism Kills Creativity

pt 1 bird by bird“Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor, the enemy of the people. It will keep you cramped and insane your whole life.”

One of the gifts of being a writer is that it gives you an excuse to do things, to go places and explore. Another is that writing motivates you to look closely at life, at life as it lurches by and tramps around.

I started writing when I was seven or eight. I was very shy and strange-looking, loved reading above everything else, weighed about forty pounds at the time, and was so tense that I walked around with my shoulders up to my ears, like Richard Nixon. I saw a home movie once of a birthday party I went to in the first grade, with all these cute little boys and girls playing…

View original post 359 more words

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

