Il kigo, di Diego Rossi

Haiku is not only a Japanese and English form … in Italy haiku is taking root as well .. and unlike the English form, Italian being a phonetic language it is closer to the Japanese … it’s very difficult to write a 5-7-5 haiku in Italian … or even translate the Japanese into a 5-7-5 haiku … take for example this haiku by Basho:

Caduto da cavallo: (7 syllables)
sul Pendio del Bastone (8 syllables)
a piedi (procedo) (6 syllables)

But it’s well worth the while to see how it’s done here in Italy!  Bastet

 

Estratto dallo studio L’estetica del renga. Prospettive filosofiche sulla poesia giapponese (2012). Tra le figure retoriche più conosciute in Occidente vi è il kigo (季語), un elemento (parola o frase) …

Original Post : Il kigo, di Diego Rossi

5 thoughts on “Il kigo, di Diego Rossi

  1. I know no Japanese at all, but can read a bit of Italian because of my moderate Spanish. I am fascinated with the Japanese forms, and have wondered about the Haiku form. I am curious as to how the characters correspond to syllables. Often I don’t seem to “get” Haiku much of the time, and wonder if the form is partly visual. I write Haiku, but I know it isn’t authentic, as I always feel that I am omitting something vital. 🙂 I try to force meter and rhyme, and enforced syllable counts. Perhaps I should study the forms? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I too am fascinated by the Japanese forms. I think that no European language quite works like the oriental kanji and onji etc. Which doesn’t mean that by studying how to compose Japanese poetry … how to use wabi sabi, karumi etc. we can’t write authentic haiku. The point shouldn’t just be a question of syllables or sounds .. though that has its importance, but how the haiku conveys its message. You might want to look into the various writing aspects of the form … its really rewarding – and has nothing to do with meter or rhyme. I think you’d make an excellent haiku poet.

      Like

  2. I am so glad you wrote this about the syllables…writing French haiku, I struggle to keep with the required syllable count since it is so much longer to say the same thing in French. That is why I have ordered some books translated by David Lanoue to get a better feel on how to convey that moment in time, that image, a kigo word perhaps, that sound and incorporate a karumi. But that is what also makes haiku so interesting 🙂

    Like

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

