Fish and Frogs – Waka – September 10, 2016

Today I’m looking at Carpe Diem Haiku Kai‘s prompt using the modern kigo offered to us by Jane Reichhold – fish and frogs.  Though particular, I enjoyed writing the ku for her kigo – especially as it brought me back in time to June of this year … here are the examples offered to us by Jane Reichhold through our host Chèvrefeuille (and his haiku effort):

heron silence
landing in the middle
of frog silence

silence
larger on the lily pad
a frog

delicate pastels
in the pain of a pinch
from a crab

new moons
at the edge of the pond
fish milt

© Jane Reichhold

croaking of frogs
resonates through the valley –
cry of a new-born

© Chèvrefeuille

Now for my efforts:

 

under the lilies
playing hide and seek
gold-fish

© Gsk ‘16

storm clouds
gather on the horizon
a frog croaks

old frog
jumps off its lily pad
rain drops fall

in father’s old pond
swim memories of his love
mother sighs

life –
hidden under lily pads
fish and frogs

© Gsk ‘16

I took many photographs of my dad’s fish pond before my mom passed away in late spring.  I enjoyed watching the life on and under the pond – from the koi to the dragon flies and frogs .. it’s a delightful microcosm of life and wonder.  Now both my mother and father are gone and I guess it’s pretty unlikely I’ll see the pond again.  But the memories will always be with me.

10 thoughts on “Fish and Frogs – Waka – September 10, 2016

  1. It is a powerful emotion the magic of place stirs in us. I still think fondly of the mountain framed in blue sky and black lake at my grandparent’s lake house. It has been many years but that recalled image can take me to a place of sublime peace

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks you so much for sharing this with me … I know exactly what you’re referring to, which is why I love photography … thought it’s true you can’t capture life you can create with your photos a catalyst for memories.

      Liked by 1 person

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

