Memoirs: What’s in a name? A Crepe!

The Daily Prompt is:

“Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Photographers, show us  YOU.”

Me and my Aunt

Georgia with her Aunt Georgia Mae

When I was born in 1952, my Aunt Georgia Mae was six years older than I.  My name was going to be Michelle Suzette if I was born a girl or I would have been my father’s Jr.  I was born a girl as we all know, so why isn’t my name Michelle Suzette?  Well, I don’t really think I have to go into that…my mother’s sister wanted me to have her name!  So I became Georgia Suzette.  The Suzette is a “frenchification” of my mother’s name Sue.

My mother always called me, Suzette.  Now that may sound like a pretty name to most of you, and I guess it is if you don’t have to live with it.  It probably isn’t really bad as name’s go.  Sometimes people would go into rounds of Suzy Q when they heard my name…and when Leonard Cohen was on the crest of the top hit charts, Susanne.  But for the most part people would titter and say: like the crepes?

I lived in a few African countries where French was the main foreign language spoken and things got worse…no longer Suzette, like the crepe, but suscet…lollypop or sucker.

I live in Italy and things got kinkier, the Italian language is totally phonetic…so Suzette was sometimes spelt Suset, some more sophisticated person’s would spell it Susett, they have some problems with the hard zed…but that fatal question always popped up once the spelling was established.

Finally, it dawned on me!  I am in fact Georgia Suzette and Georgia is pretty close to the Italian name Giorgia.  I simply told everyone: “From now on I’m Georgia!”

My family had a hard time adjusting to my “new” name and my mom still calls me Suzette, but for all intents and purposes for the last 26 years I’m Georgia.  The Italians still have problems with the spelling, but now when things are established people say: “Ah…Georgia on my mind.”  Now really isn’t that better than being remembered for a pancake?

On Facebook you won’t find Suzette either, there for years I’ve been, Georgia Bastet.  No, Suzette has become a name that I really can’t stomach!

Me 1953ps: Suzette is a diminuative for Susan and it’s roots are in Ancient Egyptian and meant lotus flower but in Hebrew it became lily; Sue is a diminuative of Susan also.  Georgia is the feminine for George and comes from Greek it means tiller of the soil or farmer. Put them together and I’m a farmer of the lotus flower or lily! 🙂

OTHER STORIES BEHIND NAMES:

  1. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | To Breathe is to Write
  2. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name: Myrna | Warrior In Heels
  3. What’s In A Name?? | Life As I Know It
  4. writemybrainsout
  5. The Right Nickname: I Keep On Searchin’ | Required Writing
  6. My Name Is… | It’s Mission Slimpossible!
  7. A Word About My Name | The Curse of Future Tom
  8. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | New Lease–Same Hope
  9. Daily Prompt: My Name | cheerios for dinner
  10. A Wiley By Any Other Name | Wiley’s Wisdom
  11. What’s In My Name? | Writing The Girl
  12. What’s in a name? | AnxiousElephant
  13. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | CARPENTER’S QUILL
  14. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | A Small Press Life
  15. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name / Haiku | damarisafari
  16. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name – or something that vaguely resembles it | A Number of Things
  17. Welcome to a new friend: Veronica Haunani Fitzhugh –charlottesville winter | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!
  18. V is for… |
  19. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name: Thanks to Lindsay Wagner | The Road 2 Cute Shoes
  20. Say My Name? If I must…. | theeldertreeblog
  21. Say My Name | Pinkpodster Ponders
  22. What’s In a Name? Learning to Be Sharon | Midlife Moments
  23. I’m Kassie, spelled with a “K” | The Oracle of Grooviness
  24. Say My Name | The Lessons of Chi
  25. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name: What’s in a Name anyway ? | Thoughts of a Lesser Canine
  26. It’s a good thing my parents called me Marnie because that’s what everyone calls me! | Marnie Brown Music
  27. It’s a good thing my parents named me Marnie because that’s what everyone calls me! | Marnie Brown Music
  28. Girl “A” | Twoscamps
  29. Say Your Name | the hitchhiker’s guide to exploring the third world
  30. My Name is… | Zhentalis | Phoenix L.c.
  31. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | Piedrasplatas
  32. It’s All About m(e) | mirannanda
  33. It’s with a “K” and only one “S” | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  34. What is in a Name? (Or, Online Distractions Led me to Drunken Babies and Name Analysis) | sharonholly
  35. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | The Undercover Princess
  36. THINK…about my name | ACT. REACT. or just THINK about it!
  37. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | life n me!
  38. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | sukies original
  39. Memoirs: What’s in a name? A Crepe! | Bastet and Sekhmet
  40. A Tale of Me | Tokyo Tales
  41. Hello. My name is Zeinab. | Zen Scribbles
  42. my name is | Bubonicboon
  43. What’s in a name? | Sweet Somethings
  44. My Name is a Four Letter Word | realdale
  45. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | Passionate Ambika
  46. Daily Prompt Collision: Say Your Name | My Elegantly Cluttered Chamber
  47. Three simple letters, many complications | Right The Writer
  48. Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | cognitive reflection
  49. Day 296. Our I.D. | Three Hundred Sixty-Five
  50. I am Ramisa|Ramisa Raya

18 thoughts on “Memoirs: What’s in a name? A Crepe!

  1. Pingback: I Am Ramisa | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. Thank you for the shout out. Funny how many of us don’t like our names. Although I much prefer my name to some of the names celebrities name their kids. Who would want to go through life being called Rumour or Blue Ivy?

    Like

    • I’ve always like the combination of the meaning of my names when you think of what your name means it’s like a poem that your parents wrote the day you were born 😉

      Like

  3. Pingback: Identity crisis?! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

in shadows light - walking under weeping pines - spring rain

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.